Edelman Joins LeFevour and Davis on Preaseason Watch List Parade Print E-mail
Written by Dave Ruthenberg   
Tuesday, August 21 2007
Tag it:
Furl it!
ImageKent State junior quarterback Julian Edelman joined fellow Mid-American Conference quarterbacks Dan LeFevour of Central Michigan and Ball State's Nate Davis, both sophomores, on the early season award watch list parade as all three MAC QB's were recently named to the Davey O'Brien Award watch list.

The Davey O'Brien Award Watch List is based on All-America teams and Honorable Mentions published in at least six different preseason college football magazines. A candidate must be listed as an All-America quarterback or as a 1st or 2nd team All-American within his conference in at least one publication, or as Honorable Mention in at least three publications.

Edelman enters his junior season at KSU after leading Kent State in 2006 with over 2,500 yards in total offense and 17 touchdowns. Edelman averaged over 228 yards of total offense per game while guiding Kent State to a 6-6 mark and a second place finish in the MAC East last season.

CMU QB Dan LeFevour

Both Central Michigan's LeFevour, and Nate Davis of Ball State, were also named earlier to the watch list of candidates for the Manning Award.

BSU QB Nate Davis

Central Michigan redshirt sophomore quarterback Dan LeFevour led the Chippewas to the 2006 MAC title, and victory in the Motor City Bowl, as a redshirt freshman, while setting the single-season school records for yards passing (3,031), touchdown passes (26) and total offense (3,552 yards). LeFevour also led the MAC by completing 63.7% of his passes in addition to pacing the MAC in total offense.  

Ball State sophomore quarterback Nate Davis returns this season as the starting quarterback for the Cardinals after passing for 1,975 yards while starting seven games last season for Ball State as a true freshman. Davis threw for 18 touchdowns and only eight interceptions, placing him among the conference leaders is passing efficiency (146.65) and pass completion percentage (61.2).

A total of 35 players appear on this season's watch list for the 2007 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award which is presented annually to the nation's top collegiate quarterback.. The winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN December 6, 2007.

Last Updated ( Monday, August 27 2007 )
< Prev   Next >

Football - Latest News


This Week Around The MAC

07.10.2008 | Football

It's our weekly early look-in around the MAC with some of the latest news around campus from our reporting partners across the Mid-American Conference.     Read more

Basketball - Latest News


Blue Ribbon Tabs Miami & Eastern Michigan

24.09.2008 | Basketball

Hoops season isn't far from getting underway and one of the nation's longest running and most respected preseason magazines has just released its forecast for the upcoming MAC hoops season.     Read more